Winners of the Community Policing Awards 2017

Published on:
Last updated:
Published by:
General news

Thames Valley Police is delighted to announce the winners of the Community Policing Awards 2017 after the awards ceremony hosted at Eynsham Hall in Oxfordshire

To see the videos and for more information on this years' Community Policing Awards winners.

The awards, now in their sixteenth year, recognise the exceptional efforts of Thames Valley Police’s neighbourhood policing teams, including police officers, Police Community Support Officers (PCSOs), Special Constables and volunteers, for the positive impact they have on the local community they serve.

In January, the nominations opened with members of the public, community groups, police officers and staff, and partners all submitting nominations for those officers, staff and volunteers that they felt had enhanced the service Thames Valley Police offers.

After receiving the highest number of nominations in Community Policing Awards history, the nominations were sifted and then reviewed by a judging panel chaired by ACC Nikki Ross.

ACC Ross said: “The Community Policing awards gives the public the opportunity to recognise a member of the force or their community who has gone above and beyond their role to make a real difference to people within the local communities.

“This year, for the first time this includes volunteers who work towards the policing mission but are outside of the organisation – of which there are many.

“There was a great response from the communities in terms of nominations and it was humbling to note the real difference that the recipients had made to the lives of so many residents in the Thames Valley. As ever, selecting the winners was difficult for the panel as the standard of the nominations was so high.

“The winners should be congratulated but so should those nominated and not successful, as their achievements and hard work has not gone unnoticed.”

The winners include:

Volunteer of the Year 2017 Gordon Bird

Special Constable 2017 Kerry Aylmer

Buckinghamshire Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2017 Nick Adkins

Oxfordshire Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2017 Agnieszka Gett

Berkshire and Overall Police Community Support Officer (PCSO) 2017 Alex McIntyre

Diversity Champion 2017 Jim Davies

Oxfordshire and Overall Community Police Officer 2017 PC Robert Maris

Buckinghamshire Community Police Officer 2017 PC Lucy Brydon

Berkshire Community Police Officer 2017 PC Jason Murphy

Lifetime Achievements Staff 2017 Margaret McLaughlin

Lifetime Achievements Officer 2017 Jackie Murdock


Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve this website

Please do not use this form to report an incident or crime, and please do not include any sensitive or confidential information.

Please note that your IP address will be captured and included along with your form submission.

You are responsible for all information that you have entered into this form.