Thames Valley Police is one of the 43 police forces in England and Wales and is the largest non-metropolitan force. It covers over 2,200 square miles and three counties: Buckinghamshire, Berkshire and Oxfordshire.

We serve a diverse population of over 2.34 million people. The force has 12 local policing areas, each with a command structure led by a Superintendent. The population has grown by 10% in the last 10 years. The force is also responsible for policing 196 miles of motorway.

Thames Valley Police works closely with Hampshire Constabulary and since 2011 we have shared a Joint Operations Unit (JOU). The JOU includes our roads policing unit, firearms capability, operational support, dogs unit, mounted unit (Thames Valley) and marine unit (Hampshire).

Thames Valley Police also collaborates on a regional basis for Counter Terrorism (Counter Terrorism Policing South East) and Serious and Organised Crime (South East Region Organised Crime Unit). For these regional structures we work with the forces of Hampshire, Surrey and Sussex. 

Our 12 local policing areas (LPAs) are:

  • Aylesbury Vale
  • Chiltern and South Buckinghamshire
  • Milton Keynes
  • Wycombe
  • Bracknell and Wokingham
  • Reading
  • Slough
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Cherwell and West Oxfordshire
  • Oxford
  • South Oxfordshire and the Vale of White Horse
tvp_website_jurisdiction_map_ 1024px